Skip to content

Manchester

October 1, 2012

20121001-130526.jpg

I failed miserably to post anything I’d planned last week, due to workload and lots of running about. I’m busy working on Newbury & Hobbes stuff, and a short story for Black Library, and was visiting friends at the weekend.

I have been thinking a lot about music and the role it plays in my writing, though, and I’ll write a bit about that later this week, I think.

In the meantime, this is the most recent haul of books from Manchester on Friday. I had a lovely day with Paul, writing in cafes and poking around bookshops, filling bags.

You can see I fell upon the whole thing with gusto. I picked up the Doctor Who books and CDs in Oxfam, where someone had clearly offloaded their entire collection. I cherry picked these to add to mine. Also found there was a hardback of Paul’s Marked for Life, which I couldn’t resist.

The Works was fruitful, if expensive, with all those reissued Bond novels by John Gardner (I love these and I’m collecting the set), another Maisie Dobbs and the fantastic Phantasmagoria, which is full to the brim with oddities, monsters and strange myths. The Inventions book is part of the same series, but not quite as exciting.

I think that’s it, other than the Star Trek novel Paul gave me to read. I’ve never read a Star Trek book, so I approach it with some hesitation… I’ll report back in due course.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2012 1:44 pm

    Is the Trek book ‘Tears of the Singers’? That’s one of Paul’s best ever recommendations!

Leave a Reply

