Skip to content

Ghosts of Manhattan Sample

April 19, 2010

My generous overlords at Pyr have just posted the first six chapters of Ghosts of Manhattan online as a free sample. You can find them here.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Greg permalink
    April 21, 2010 2:41 pm

    Hello Mr. Mann,

    I am writing a review for the Ghosts of Manhattan and recalled reading that it was set in the same universe as the Affinity Bridge (which I hope to be getting to sometime soon) and I wanted to check that information before adding that to the review… I don’t recall where I read it. Thanks for the alternate version of the pulp era heroes been a fan of the pulps for a while and I can’t wait for more…

  2. April 21, 2010 8:31 pm

    Hi Greg

    Thanks for this.

    Yes, it’s set in the same universe, but the links aren’t intended to be immediately obvious. Ghosts of Manhattan takes place 25 years after the Newbury & Hobbes stories. Some of the events in the later N&H books will set up a few of the background points in Ghosts, but really they’re meant to be independent series within a shared setting.

    • Greg permalink
      April 22, 2010 8:39 am

      Hi George..

      Thanks for the information… I suspected that this was the case but I wanted to have my “facts” strait before commenting…. look forward to reading the Newbury and Hobbes books soon… spending some time in europe and will be looking for them …

  3. June 2, 2010 6:28 pm

    Hello George…

    Wanted to tell you that the review has finally been posted. I did not really go into it much but I got a great sense that you have a great knowledge and love for the genre of the pulp era. Loved reading your work and can’t wait to get my hands on the Newbury and Hobbs books…

    Thanks

    Greg

  4. blizzardcrow permalink
    March 22, 2012 12:58 am

    Hey George

    I have just finished reading Ghost of Manhattan and i was wondering if there is anymore books with Ghost in them or is it a stand alone book?

    I hope there is more to it cause i want to know what it was at the end of the book 🙂

  5. Andrew Lepine permalink
    June 13, 2012 6:46 pm

    Hello Mr. Mann

    I’m doing a book report in school on Ghost of Manhattan because i enjoyed reading it so much. but i was wondering what the theme of the story was or what kind of message you were trying to send to its readers. I have read it many times and simply cannot find any your help would be greatly appreciated thanks!

Leave a Reply

