Skip to content

More Books!

September 10, 2012

20120910-074905.jpg

Here’s some new books I picked up yesterday while I was out and about. We were supposed to be shopping for kitchen utensils and clothes, but I came home with books, hot chocolate and spicy tea. Much more like it.

A couple more Sherlock Holmes books here, of course – another June Thomson and a Laurie King that I didn’t have.

I’ve always wanted to try the Maisie Dobbs books by Jacqueline Winspear. This is my first, and I picked it up on a whim.

Cambridge Blue is the first in a series of crime novels set in and around Cambridge, and I’ve been intrigued by them for a while. I finally relented and bought it. I’m looking forward to this. I like to dip my toe into British contemporary crime novels every now and then. One day I’ll write a crime series set in and around Durham, I think.

Angelglass is the other missing David Barnett, which arrived in the post on Saturday afternoon.

I’m enjoying the first Daisy Dalrymple I pointed out the other day, and I’ve finished the James Blaylock I discovered in Edinburgh. Not sure what to tackle next. There’s too much choice!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cavan permalink
    September 10, 2012 8:13 am

    OK the question that needs to be asked is which brand of spicy tea?

    • September 10, 2012 10:52 am

      It was Dreamtime spicy tea from Whittard’s. Really lovely and fruity!

  2. Nick permalink
    September 11, 2012 9:22 pm

    Ooh nice grab. Looks like you found a branch of The Works – they always seem to have King and Winspear. Very popular with my other half. There’s no need for spatulas.

    • September 11, 2012 9:40 pm

      Ha! You’re right. I did indeed pick them up in a branch of The Works (well, all except the David Barnett).

      • September 12, 2012 8:47 am

        I recognise a bargain hunter when I see one.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

