Skip to content

Edinburgh Haul

August 27, 2012

20120827-111857.jpg

Here’s the haul of books that I picked up in Edinburgh at the weekend. Some were gifts, and some were discovered as we wandered around all those fantastic bookshops in the city.

I’ve been looking forward to the M. John Harrison for some time, and the Richard Fortey book about the Natural History Museum (kindly donated by Stuart) looks particularly fab. The Blaylock looks great, too. I realise this is some sort of terrible admission but I’ve never actually read Blaylock, so it’ll be good to dip in with this novella.

I’m still reading my way through the Doctor Who Eighth Doctor novels, too. I’m about ten books in now and loving every minute. Perhaps I’ll do a roundup soon.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2012 12:40 pm

    Isn’t finding unexpected books an absolute treat? Yesterday I wsa not expecting to buy any books, and walked away with a history of the Samurai that looks quite fantastic. The discovery of a book that catches the imagination is a very wonderful thing. Yea for books!

  2. August 27, 2012 1:00 pm

    I can’t think of anything more satisfying than finding interesting and unexpected books in bookshops. I was travelling light to Edinburgh and had set out with the intention of only allowing myself to buy two or three – but ended up with a huge pile. Still, I think it’s good for the soul, if not the bank balance or the heaving bookshelves…

  3. August 27, 2012 11:45 pm

    The trouble with bookshops is that they make me buy books. My to read pile is so big now that if it slips it could demolish the house!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

