Skip to content

The Osiris Ritual

July 13, 2010

Wow! Look at this amazing new illustration from the pen of M D Penman.

I’ve been working with Mark on a Newbury & Hobbes comic project and yesterday, out of the blue, he sent me this fabulous new piece, which he’s created to illustrate The Osiris Ritual. I’m completely bowled over. Mark is an amazing talent. This is currently my desktop wallpaper.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 9:13 pm

    Fantastic work!

  2. July 14, 2010 4:05 pm

    Very cool. Is there any time frame on when this is coming out? What publisher?

  3. July 14, 2010 7:58 pm

    Hiya

    No timeframe at the moment, I’m afraid. It may be a little while. We’re not doing a straight adaptation of the novels (the piece above is just a one off), but a brand new story, set between the other books. I’ll keep you updated though when I can say more!

  4. July 15, 2010 2:58 am

    Sweet! Can’t wait to blog about this.

  5. July 16, 2010 11:14 am

    Nice :)

  6. July 16, 2010 8:10 pm

    I just finished reading THE OSIRIS RITUAL last weekend and I am excited to see the reaction of the Newbury & Hobbes fans, I am hoping this book becomes a huge success for you George. Seeing this art gets me excited as well, having a love for the graphic novel format. My review for the book will be appearing in a number of web and print publications. Cheers! Steve

  7. July 19, 2010 10:54 am

    Really is a top notch comic sketch – hope the project comes off.

  8. Kevin Povey permalink
    August 17, 2010 9:18 pm

    Wow great art – is the planned comic/graphic novel gonna be The Beast of Malbury Cross? Can’t wait for new stories in any format – the series has been fantastic so far!

  9. August 17, 2010 9:25 pm

    Hi Kevin

    Thanks for your kind words. Yes, that’s the one. We’ve almost finished ‘The Beast of Malbury Cross’ as a one shot comic now. Doesn’t have a home yet, mind, so we’ll have to start shopping it around!

  10. August 23, 2010 9:23 pm

    Nice work! Looking forward to seeing a visual companion to your work. Just finished The Affinity Bridge, and could not put it down. Glad to discover your work, George! Fuels my imagination. I’m working on a steampunk project of my own at the moment, which you can have a glimpse of if you scroll down to the first postings on my blog:

    http://utamoh.wordpress.com/

    It’s an on again / off again book project which I work on between film contracts and teaching, but will get back to it full tilt in the fall.
    Cheers, and I look forward to reading all your work now!
    Meinert

  11. Lisa Williams permalink
    August 30, 2010 11:08 pm

    I read Affinity Bridge and I was hooked! I immediately went out and bought the Osiris Ritual followed by Ghosts if Manhattan.

    I am counting down the days to the next Newbury novel – amazing books!

    Thank you

    :=)

  12. September 20, 2010 5:00 pm

    Thank you for your delightful adventure with Newbury and Hobbs! It was so much fun; the cliff hangers, the energy and the lightning pace, really, a splendid read. I am reminded, somewhat, of a favorite novel “The Arcanum” by Thomas Wheeler.

    I will, certainly, find and read “The Affinity Bridge” and hopefully look forward to more. So glad I found you.

    My Kindest Regards,

    alan

  13. Ryan Taylor permalink
    September 27, 2010 5:07 am

    Gorgeous work by the illustrator, just finished The Osiris Ritual and it was everything I’d hoped it be and more. I can’t wait to see what amounts from this new venture you’re taking with the graphic novel work and I await the next Newbury & Hobbes investigation.

    You’ve swiftly become one of my favorite authors Mr. Mann.

  14. September 27, 2010 8:17 pm

    Just stopping by to say thanks for all the kind words about the books! I’ve had my head down finishing the next one, but it’s done now and I’ll try to get back to keeping this blog up to date again!

    Cheers!

    G

  15. Justin Owens permalink
    February 1, 2011 11:33 am

    When is Immorality Engine being released? Rumors say Sept. 27, 2011. I’m chomping at the bit to read the next adventure of Newbury and Hobbes! I don’t know how many times I’ve read and reread the first two books and the accompanying short stories. Speaking of accompanying short stories, will the events A Death at Fairview, The Huntington Legacy, and The Beast of Malbury Cross be made into short stories? If they already are, where can I find them? I feel like an addict going through withdrawal. haha Anyway, keep up the great work!

  16. Craig Mooney permalink
    February 23, 2011 3:09 am

    This is great news!
    I have just finished reading The Affinity Bridge and found it to be an excellent portal to another world.
    I can’t wait to read the rest.

    Incidentally, are there any audiobooks coming out for these books? It must happen!!

  17. George permalink
    April 30, 2011 10:47 pm

    George-love The Ghost and Newbury and Hobbes,but have a question: are they set in the same universe, and if so, any chance of an older Newbury ever meeting The Ghost?I’ve only read The Affinity Bridge, so do not know much about the characters.

  18. August 30, 2011 3:50 pm

    George,

    I know the N&H books are part of a trilogy, but I do sincerely hope that you’ll revisit them with a new trilogy one day. My GeekDad.com review was posted yesterday:

    http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2011/08/two-good-steampunk-titles-the-affinity-bridge-and-the-osiris-ritual/

    The Ghosts series review was posted today:

    http://www.wired.com/geekdad/2011/08/two-more-good-steampunk-titles-%e2%80%94-ghosts-of-manhattan-and-ghosts-of-war/

    • Kevin Povey permalink
      January 2, 2012 11:55 am

      According to a summer issue of SFX Magazine, more Newbury & Hobbes books are planned

  19. Dirk Berger permalink
    October 18, 2011 7:53 pm

    Wonderful image, hope it will catch athmosphere of the books.

    Just another request to George Mann, is there a way to reach you via email? I have an important request for an upcoming event and would like to send to you?

    Dirk, Germany

  20. Kevin Povey permalink
    January 2, 2012 12:17 pm

    Hi George, is there any news on the ‘Malbury Cross’ comic?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 81 other followers

