Skip to content

Thea Gilmore

May 5, 2010

I went back to Thea Gilmore today, specifically her album Avalanche.

This has to be my favourite of her studio albums. I think she’s so underrated; one of the best British female artists working today. I listen to her for inspiration and this album pretty much provided a soundtrack for Ghosts of Manhattan. I put it on in the car this morning and it still sounds fresh, and soulful, and joyous. There are so many great songs here: ‘Mainstream’ (which seems to be a track in dialogue with Neil Young’s ‘Rockin’ in the Free World’), ‘Avalanche’, ‘Heads Will Roll’ and my personal favourite, ‘Razor Valentine’. That last, in my mind, is the voice of Celeste Parker from Ghosts, singing a plaintive lament for her lover. I listened to the song again and again while I was writing and it captures the tone of my character perfectly.

I can feel myself gearing up for more. I’m planning to tackle another of her albums tomorrow. Can’t wait.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Leo permalink
    July 30, 2012 3:55 am

    Will there be more Ghosts books? I loved both of them!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

